Gov. Doug Ducey
Originally published Monday, April 16, 2018 at 05:52a.m.
PHOENIX – It’s last call for anyone younger than 16 to wed.
Gov. Doug Ducey on Wednesday signed legislation which sets for the first time ever a minimum age for marriage in Arizona.
The law, which takes effect this summer, says anyone can get hitched at 18. The same measure does allow for weddings of those 16 and 17, but only with parental permission or if someone has been legally “emancipated’’ by a court, essentially a declaration that the person is mature and self-sufficient enough to make his or her own decisions.
There is one key restriction: Anyone younger than 18 can marry only someone who is no more than three years older. Supporters of this provision say this is designed to prevent situations where one person in the marriage has undue influence over the other.
Once someone turns 18, however, he or she can pick anyone, of any age.
Egg sell by date increased
Arizona retailers will be able to sell much older eggs to customers later this year.
Current law spells out eggs can be sold only up to 24 days after they are packed. That has been based on various estimates that the quality of eggs can start to deteriorate after that point for certain uses, though they remain safe for longer if refrigerated.
This new law signed Wednesday by Gov. Doug Ducey keeps that 24-day requirement in place for eggs labeled Grade AA. But producers will now be free to label their products as Grade A and keep them for sale for up to 45 days.
The legislation was pushed by the Arizona Retailers Association. Lobbyist Michelle Ahlmer said that short sale period had customers refusing to buy eggs that were close to the 24-day limit, forcing merchants to throw out what could not be sold.
New oversight for sober living homes
The state is going to get some new oversight of “sober living homes,’’ places where people can live while they are dealing with alcohol and drug abuse problems.
Two years ago the state gave cities permission to register these facilities. But proponents have said that has proven insufficient to both deal with “bad actors’’ as well as protect neighborhoods where they are located.
The measure signed Wednesday by Gov. Doug Ducey provides for state licensing of the homes and requires the Department of Health Services to have standards for their operation, such as maintaining a safe environment for the surrounding community and having a “good neighbor’’ policy to deal with concerns and complaints. There also is a mandate for drug testing -- at at a frequency “that promotes the residents’ recovery.’’
It also permits state health officials to impose $500 fines for each violation of any statute or rule.
The oversight is designed to deal with the fact that the Americans with Disabilities Act precludes cities from prohibiting sober living homes entirely.